Tuesday, November 07, 2006


Here is a topic I am living. Again Stephen Abram Readiness for Change writes eloquently about change. He compares reaction to change and starts with the classic stages of grief [Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, and Acceptance].

He gives credit to Sharyn at Libraries and Librarians Rock blog who quotes "The Four Levels of People’s Readiness for Successful Behavior Change by James Prochaska from the University of Rhode Island.

Those categories are:

  1. Oblivious—can’t see the problem; deny that they need to change, resist change efforts.
  2. Contemplation—see the need for improvement and think about how to do it. They will talk about it but are not yet ready to do it. A person can get stuck in this phase for a long time just thinking about change.
  3. Preparation—focus on solution—action plan; aware of problem, see ways to solve it and anticipate doing it. May be propelled to this stage of readiness by talk with supervisor, disaster, personal crisis. This is the time for a detailed action plan.
  4. Action–visible change begins. The plan is embraced, practiced, and actions begin to change."

Read the post. It is illuminating.

No comments:

Post a Comment